Tag: Guinea

21
Dec

The Fakassia Union and environmental issues (Damaro, Guinea), August 2022

El Hadj Fantamady Damaro Camara, president of Damaro’s Fakassia union.     “It is the association of the children of Damaro, of all the nationals, friends and allies, those from outside and inside. Within the association, every year, all the sons of Damaro meet in a general assembly to present projects and programmes for the development of Damaro.     The union

Lire plus

30
May

Third training workshop for village communication relays, 28 February to 3 March 2022, Damaro (Guinea)

The third workshop of the Watigueleya Kélê project took place in Damaro, Guinea, from Monday 28 February to Thursday 3 March 2022. The workshop focused on theatre as a means of raising awareness about the effects of climate change. The objective was to train village communication relays to develop and perform skits on the theme of climate resilience, so that

Lire plus

30
May

Newsletter #5 – Introduction

This spring newsletter is largely dominated by the activities of the last workshop that took place in Damaro (Guinea), from 28 February to 3 March 2022. All the village communication relays were able to gather again, discuss their latest reports and above all take part in a theatre workshop led by the Malian theatre specialist Aboubacar Diarra. Statistical reports of

Lire plus

30
May

Presentation of the book Djiguiba Camara in the village of Damaro, March 2022

In March 2022, Marie Rodet and Elara Bertho presented the book Djiguiba Camara, Essai d’histoire locale (available in free access here) to the descendants of the Camara family in the village of Damaro, a partner of the Watigueleya Kèlê project. The book traces the long history of the Camara migrations, accounts of the founding of the village, resistance to French

Lire plus

30
May

Preservation of the Nakotou forest, around Damaro, Guinea, November 2021

Ansoumane Camara in the Nakotou forest, one and a half kilometres from Damaro centre. From now on, when a tree is cut down (for a funeral or other reason), the community obliges to reforest in the forest, in return. This forest has always existed and the climate is very mild. The aim is to reforest the whole of Damaro.  

30
May

Mutual aid groups during the rice harvest, Mandou, Guinea, October 2021

The mutual aid group in the field of an inhabitant of Mandou during the rice harvest in the presence of the village delegate of Mandou, Moussa Camara. It is October and there has been no rain for a fortnight already. The youth are getting organised to help the owner of the field to face the challenges of climate change.   

30
May

Growing okra in Bossoko, Guinea, November 2021

I am talking about agriculture: the cultivation of okra. Before, we used to grow long-lasting crops. For reasons of climate change and lack of water, I turned to okra, which lasts only two months and two weeks. Okra is useful in the sense that we eat it fresh, dry, with rice, fonio, to (food made from cassava). Once ground, we

Lire plus

28
Jan

Collective village repertoires: the challenges of a collective digitisation in Damaro, Guinea

By Elara Bertho (LAM, Sciences Po Bordeaux), Co-investigator in SOAS research project: Watigueleya Kèlê, Equitable Climate Resilience in West Africa: A Comparative Research Action Programme (Mali, Guinea and Senegal) In a reflection on the notion of a collective village repertoire and its digitisation, I return to the research-action programme carried out with the Malian association Donkosira, which since 2017 has

Lire plus

27
Jan

Sougban: a medicinal plant with multiple virtues in Bossoko, Guinea, November 2021

I am talking about this plant which is called “Sougban” in our language because it is in danger of extinction due to climate change. Yet it is a very effective plant in the treatment of malaria. It treats stomach aches and certain skin infections, it facilitates childbirth for pregnant women and above all its leaves are delicious in sauce. That’s

Lire plus

27
Jan

Fencing for cattle pens in Mandou, Guinea, November 2021

I am Amadou Camara, president of the Mandou district. I made this pen with fencing to keep my cattle, goats and sheep safe. This was only possible thanks to the financial support of my children. So I fenced off my grazing area.  The importance of this fence is to protect my cattle:  I have lost more than ten oxen in

Lire plus

Tag: Guinea

30
Mai

Le troisième atelier de formation des relais villageois, 28 février-3 mars 2022, Damaro (Guinée)

Le troisième atelier du projet Watigueleya Kélê s’est déroulé à Damaro en Guinée, du  lundi 28 février au jeudi 3 mars 2022. L’atelier s’est centré sur le théâtre comme moyen de sensibilisation aux effets du changement climatique. L’objectif était de former les relais villageois à inventer et jouer des saynètes sur le thème de la résilience climatique, afin qu’ils puissent

Lire plus

30
Mai

Newsletter n°5 – Introduction

Cette newsletter de printemps est largement dominée par les activités du dernier atelier qui s’est déroulé à Damaro (Guinée), du 28 février au 3 mars 2022. Tous les relais villageois ont pu se retrouver, échanger sur leurs derniers reportages et surtout participer à un atelier de théâtre animé par le spécialiste malien de théâtre Aboubacar Diarra. Des compte-rendus statistiques de

Lire plus

30
Mai

Présentation de l’ouvrage Djiguiba Camara au village de Damaro, Mars 2022

En mars 2022, Marie Rodet et Elara Bertho ont présenté l’ouvrage Djiguiba Camara, Essai d’histoire locale (disponible en accès libre ici) aux descendants de la famille Camara dans le village de Damaro, partenaire du projet Watigueleya Kèlê. L’ouvrage retrace la longue histoire des migrations Camara, des récits de fondation du village, la résistance à la colonisation française et, en filigrane, les stratégies

Lire plus

30
Mai

Préservation de la forêt de Nakotou, autour de Damaro, Guinée, Novembre 2021

Ansoumane Camara dans la forêt de Nakotou à un kilomètre et demi de Damaro centre. Désormais, lorsque l’on coupe un arbre (pour un décès ou autre), la communauté oblige à reboiser dans le bois, en contrepartie. Cette forêt existe depuis toujours, le climat y est très doux. L’objectif est de reboiser tout le tour de Damaro. 

30
Mai

Les groupes d’entraide pendant la récolte du riz, Mandou, Guinée, Octobre 2021

Le groupe d’entraide dans le champ d’un habitant de Mandou   pour la récolte du riz en présence du délégué villageois de Mandou Moussa Camara. Nous sommes en octobre et cela fait deux semaines qu’il n’y a déjà plus de pluie. La jeunesse s’organise pour venir aider le propriétaire du champ pour faire face aux défis du changement climatique. 

30
Mai

La culture du gombo à Bossoko, Guinée, Novembre 2021

Moi je parle de l’agriculture : de la culture du gombo. Avant nous cultivions des cultures de longue durée. Pour des raisons du changement climatique le manque d’eau, je me suis tournée vers le gombo qui ne dure que deux mois deux semaines. Le gombo est utile en ce sens que nous le consommons frais, sec, avec du riz, du

Lire plus

28
Jan

Répertoires collectifs villageois : enjeux d’une numérisation collective à Damaro, Guinée

(version française disponible sous peu) By Elara Bertho (LAM, Sciences Po Bordeaux), Co-investigator in SOAS research project: Watigueleya Kèlê, Equitable Climate Resilience in West Africa: A Comparative Research Action Programme (Mali, Guinea and Senegal) In a reflection on the notion of a collective village repertoire and its digitisation, I return to the research-action programme carried out with the Malian association

Lire plus

27
Jan

Sougban : une plante médicinale aux multiples vertus à Bossoko, Guinée, Novembre 2021

Je parle de cette plante qui s’appelle dans notre langue « Sougban » parce qu’elle risque de disparaitre à cause du changement climatique. Pourtant c’est une plante très efficace dans le traitement du paludisme. Elle traite les maux de ventre et certaines infections de la peau, elle facilite l’accouchement chez les femmes enceinte et surtout ses feuilles sont délicieuses pour la sauce.

Lire plus

27
Jan

Des grillages pour des enclos à bœufs à Mandou, Guinée, Novembre 2021

Je suis Amadou Camara président du district de Mandou. J’ai fait cet enclos avec des grillages pour mettre mes bœufs, mes chèvres et mes moutons en sécurité. Et, ceci n’a été possible que grâce l’appui financier de mes enfants. Ainsi j’ai clôturé ma zone de pâturage.  L’une des importances de cette clôture :  C’est de protéger mes bœufs contre les voleurs,

Lire plus

27
Jan

Diminution de la faune dans la montagne de Simandou à Damaro, Guinée, Novembre 2021

Le Chasseur Saran Djiba Camara explique que les chasseurs savent les bêtes qui doivent être tuées et celles qui ne doivent pas l’être. Ils préservent la sécurité du village. Auparavant, ils tuaient des agoutis et de nombreuses autres bêtes. Désormais, Saran Djiba Camara déplore la rareté de la faune à cause du changement climatique et de la prospection minière dans

Lire plus