“The Village Communication Relays Workshop in Bandafassi, Senegal”, May 2021

The village communication relays of the Watigueleya Kèlê programme gathered with the project team for a training session in Bandafassi from 24 to 28 May.  The training began on Monday 24 May in the community village of Bandafassi, with a few words of welcome and a tribute to Lanciné Camara, village communication relay of Damaro (Guinea) who died recently. The Watigueleya Kèlê team dedicated this meeting to the memory of Lanciné.

Subsequently, the villagers were able to view the local knowledge reports they had made and discuss with the other villagers, Donkosira and the research team about how to improve future reports. John Kalapo, President of Donkosira, was able to give advice on the form of the report and the framing. Marie Rodet, Programme Director, reminded the audience of the difference between contribution and reportage, and gave advice on how to get rich content, by asking questions to the interviewee to develop the topic. The issues of consent of those being filmed were also recalled. Mamadou Cissé, Secretary General of Donkosira, also led a session on local history and its sources, including village elders. As for the rest of the workshop, translation into Bambara and Peuhl was provided by the village communication relays and Donkosira members, to ensure understanding and participation by all participants.

The second day was devoted to a visit to the Bedik village of Ethiouar. As the historic village is located at the top of the hill overlooking Bandafassi, the village communication relays gathered at the community village for the start. On the way up, Bernadette, a village communication relay from Bandafassi, showed the women of the project the place where the women of the village extract clay and where men are not allowed to enter. In Ethiouar, the participants were able to meet the chief of the Bedik village, who shared with the village communication relays the history and traditions of the village. Jacques Camara, village communication relay of Bandafassi, showed them the surroundings of the village, especially a cave that is closely linked to its history. Finally, a guided walk to the Ethiouar well gave rise to a presentation of the plants used locally for food, handicrafts and health.

The issue of advocacy was addressed on Wednesday, during a training session led by Illia Djadi, an international advocacy consultant, for the village communication relays. After an initial theoretical session on advocacy, the villagers worked in country groups to apply these tools and express their needs and proposals in a formalised framework. Marie-Christine Deleigne, in charge of the socio-economic survey, also presented some of the preliminary results of the survey conducted in February-March 2021, which were used for the practical exercise on advocacy.

During the workshop, there were moments of sociability and exchange between the village communication relays of the different villages, Donkosira and the research team, including an evening in the nearby town of Kédougou on Wednesday evening !

Thursday was an exchange between the village communication relays on their local knowledge, first in a theoretical session, where the villagers explained the different uses they made of local plants, and then through practical demonstrations. A workshop on canary making and fonio preparation was organised.

Finally, Friday was devoted to conclusions and recommendations: the villagers drew up a summary of each day of the workshop. The outcome of the workshop is very satisfactory. The village communication relays were strongly committed to participating in the various workshops, and showed a desire to deepen the content, develop new tools, continue the project and enhance its value.

A big thank you to the local authorities and the village communication relays of Bandafassi for their hospitality, as well as to all the village communication relays for their investment in the workshop!

Leave a Reply

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap

“L’atelier des relais villageois à Bandafassi, Sénégal”, Mai 2021

Restitution de l’Atelier de Bandafassi

Les relais villageois du programme Watigueleya Kèlê se sont rassemblés avec l’équipe du projet pour une formation à Bandafassi du 24 au 28 mai. 

Cette formation a commencé le lundi 24 mai au village communautaire de Bandafassi, par quelques mots de bienvenue et par un hommage à Lanciné Camara, relais villageois de Damaro (Guinée) décédé récemment.  L’équipe Watigueleya Kèlê a dédié cette rencontre à la mémoire de Lanciné.

Par la suite, les villageois.e.s ont pu visionner les reportages sur les savoirs locaux qu’ils avaient réalisés, et échanger avec les autres villageois.e.s, Donkosira et l’équipe de recherche sur la manière d’améliorer les futurs reportages. John Kalapo, Président de Donkosira, a notamment pu apporter des conseils sur la forme du reportage, le cadrage. Marie Rodet, Directrice du programme, a rappelé la différence entre contribution et reportage, et a donné des conseils sur la manière d’obtenir un contenu riche, en posant des questions à la personne interrogée pour développer le sujet. Les questions du consentement des personnes filmées ont aussi été rappelées. Mamadou Cissé, Secrétaire Général de Donkosira, a également dirigé une session sur l’histoire locale et ses sources, notamment les aîné.e.s dans les villages. Comme pour le reste de l’atelier, une traduction en bambara et en peuhl a été assurée par les relais villageois et les membres de Donkosira, pour garantir la compréhension et la participation de tou.te.s les participant.e.s.

Le deuxième jour était consacré à la visite du village bedik d’Ethiouar. Le village historique se trouvant au sommet de la colline surplombant Bandafassi, les relais villageois se sont réunis au village communautaire pour le départ. Au cours de la montée, Bernadette, relais villageois de Bandafassi, a fait découvrir aux femmes du projet l’endroit où les femmes du village extraient l’argile et dont l’accès est interdit aux hommes. A Ethiouar, les participant.e.s ont pu rencontrer le chef du village bedik, qui a partagé avec les relais villageois l’histoire et les traditions du village. Jacques Camara, relais villageois de Bandafassi, a fait découvrir les alentours du village, notamment une grotte très liée à son histoire. Enfin, une promenade guidée jusqu’au puits d’Ethiouar a donné lieu à une présentation des plantes utilisées localement pour la nourriture, l’artisanat ou encore la santé.

La question du plaidoyer a été abordée le mercredi, lors d’une formation dirigée par Illia Djadi, consultant international en plaidoyer, pour les relais villageois. Après une première session d’ordre théorique sur le plaidoyer, les villageois.e.s ont travaillé par groupe pays pour appliquer ces outils, et exprimer leurs besoin et propositions dans un cadre formalisé. Marie-Christine Deleigne, en charge de l’enquête socio-économique, a également présenté certains des résultats préliminaires de l’enquête menée en février-mars 2021, qui ont été utilisés pour l’exercice pratique sur le plaidoyer.

Au cours de l’atelier, des moments de sociabilité et d’échange entre les relais villageois des différents villages, Donkosira et l’équipe de recherche ont eu lieu, notamment lors d’une soirée dans la ville voisine de Kédougou le mercredi soir !

Le jeudi a donné lieu à un échange entre les relais villageois sur leurs savoirs locaux, tout d’abord dans une session théorique, où les villageois.e.s ont exposé les usages différents qu’ils faisaient des plantes locales, puis par des démonstrations pratiques. Un atelier de fabrication de canaris et de preparation du fonio a ainsi été organisé.

Enfin, le vendredi a été consacré aux conclusions et recommendations : les villageois.e.s ont dressé un récapitulatif de chaque journée d’atelier. Le bilan qui ressort de l’atelier est très satisfaisant. Les relais villageois se sont fortement investi.e.s dans la participation aux différents ateliers, et se sont montré.e.s désireux.euses d’approfondir le contenu, de développer de nouveaux outils, de poursuivre le projet et de le valoriser.

Un grand merci aux autorités locales et aux relais villageois de Bandafassi pour leur hospitalité, ainsi qu’à tous les relais villageois pour leur investissement au sein de l’atelier !

Visite du village Ethiour- Bandafassi

Interventions Ateliers Bandafassi

Restitution de l’Atelier de Bandafassi

Laisser un commentaire

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap