“First results of the socio-economic survey” (Guinea, Mali, Senegal), May 2021

As part of the Watigueleya Kèlê action-research programme, a socio-economic survey was carried out from 1 February to 17 March 2021 in the 10 villages participating in the project. In total, 864 households were surveyed (representing a population of 10,480 people). Among them, 974 people aged 18 and over (477 men and 497 women, selected by random draw) were interviewed about, among other things, the climatic and ecological hazards encountered, their perceptions of the changes observed over the last ten years, the notion of “climate change” and local management methods for natural resources.

The data collected is currently being processed and analysed. Some interesting elements are already emerging from the initial results presented at the workshop held in Bandafassi, Senegal, in late May 2021.

Based on the statements of the interviewees, it appears that the three study areas have been affected differently by hazards over the past 10 years, which can be explained in part by the different agro-ecological contexts involved: In Guinea, drought appears to be the main hazard faced by households (88%), followed by pest infestations for almost one in two households (45%); in Senegal, on the other hand, while 60% of households also faced drought, a very large majority (78%) experienced epizootic diseases, and two-thirds (67%) had to deal with bush fires; Most households surveyed in Mali also faced drought (93%), but many also faced livestock diseases (86%), as well as crop diseases and pest infestations (78%).

Source: MENAGE Watigueleya Kèlê survey, 2021.

Climate change’ is also perceived differently across the study areas. While a large majority of respondents in Guinea and Mali said they had heard of ‘climate change’ (80% and 74% respectively), only one in two in Senegal (50%) had. This is undoubtedly related to people’s perception of the evolution of climatic conditions for agricultural production: for 93% of respondents in Guinea and 73% in Mali, these conditions are ‘less good’ today than they were 10 years ago; on the other hand, 40% in Senegal perceive these climatic conditions as similar, with only a small majority (55%) stating that climatic conditions for agricultural production were less good than 10 years ago.

            The information of the populations with regard to “climate change” still seems to be poorly organised and developed in an institutional manner in the three study areas. Indeed, most of the people who had heard about ‘climate change’ had heard about it in informal discussions with relatives and/or neighbours, and a majority stated that there were no public meetings in the village on the subject, or that they did not know if any existed. These results may explain why, on the one hand, the primary cause of climate change is attributed to “God” in all three study areas, while, on the other hand, a majority of respondents believe that villagers cannot provide solutions to limit the impact of climate change. These results are also related to the consultation and information processes of the populations concerning access to and management of natural resources. Indeed, the majority of respondents stated that they were never consulted (73% in Senegal, 64% in Mali and 56% in Guinea) and, in Senegal and Mali in particular, that they were little or not at all informed of the decisions taken on this subject.

            This clearly shows the interest of the Watigueleya Kèlê action-research project in collecting, promoting and disseminating local knowledge and practices to deal with climate change. Moreover, although they are in the minority, over a third of respondents in Guinea (34%) and Mali (35%), and nearly 20% of those in Senegal, believe that villagers can provide solutions to limit the impact of climate change. Yet it implies that the populations, without distinction, are integrated into the decision-making processes concerning access to and management of natural resources and that they are informed of the decisions that are taken on this subject.

Leave a Reply

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap

“Les premiers résultats de l’enquête socio-économique” (Guinée, Mali, Sénégal), Mai 2021

Dans le cadre du programme de recherche-action Watigueleya Kèlê, une enquête socio-économique a été réalisée, du 1er février au 17 mars 2021, dans les 10 villages participant au projet. Au total, 864 ménages ont été recensés (ce qui représente une population de 10 480 personnes). Parmi eux, 974 personnes âgées de 18 ans et plus (477 hommes et 497 femmes, sélectionnés par tirage aléatoire) ont été interrogées à propos, entre autres, des aléas climatiques et écologiques rencontrés, de leurs perceptions des changements observés depuis dix ans, de la notion de « changement climatique » et des modes de gestion locale des ressources naturelles.

Les données recueillies sont actuellement en cours de traitement et d’analyse. Quelques éléments intéressants ressortent déjà des premiers résultats présentés lors de l’atelier qui s’est tenu à Bandafassi (Sénégal) fin mai 2021.

Au vu des déclarations des personnes interrogées, il apparaît que les 3 zones d’étude ont été touchées différemment par les aléas durant les 10 dernières années, ce qui s’explique en partie par les différents contextes agro-écologiques en présence : en Guinée, la sécheresse apparaît comme le principal aléa auquel les ménages ont été confrontés (88 %), suivi des invasions de nuisibles pour près d’un ménage sur deux (45 %) ; au Sénégal en revanche, si 60 % des ménages ont aussi été confrontés à la sécheresse, une très large majorité (78 %) a connu des épizooties et les deux tiers (67 %) ont dû faire face à des feux de brousse ; les ménages enquêtés au Mali ont également été pour la plupart confrontés à la sécheresse (93 %), mais également, pour nombre d’entre eux, aux maladies du bétail (86 %), ainsi qu’aux maladies des cultures et aux invasions de nuisibles (78 %).

Source : Enquête MENAGE Watigueleya Kèlê, 2021.

Le « changement climatique » est également perçu différemment selon les zones d’études. Alors qu’une large majorité des individus interrogés en Guinée et au Mali ont déclaré avoir entendu parler du « changement climatique » (respectivement 80 % et 74 %), ce n’est le cas que d’une personne deux au Sénégal (50 %). Ceci est sans aucun doute à rapprocher de la perception qu’ont les populations de l’évolution des conditions climatiques pour la production agricole : pour 93 % des personnes interrogées en Guinée et 73 % de celles du Mali, ces conditions sont « moins bonnes » aujourd’hui qu’il y a 10 ans ; ils.elles sont par contre 40 % au Sénégal à percevoir ces conditions climatiques comme similaires, seule une petite majorité (55 %) déclarant que les conditions climatiques pour la production agricole étaient moins bonnes qu’il y a 10 ans.

L’information des populations par rapport au « changement climatique » semble encore peu organisée et développée de façon institutionnelle dans les 3 zones d’étude. En effet, pour la plupart des personnes ayant entendu parler du « changement climatique », elles en ont entendu parler lors de discussions informelles avec les parents et/ou les voisins, et une majorité a déclaré qu’il n’existait pas de réunions publiques au village sur le sujet, ou ne pas savoir s’il en existait. Ces résultats peuvent expliquer que, d’une part, la première cause du changement climatique soit attribuée à « Dieu » dans les 3 zones de l’étude, quand, d’autre part, une majorité des personnes interrogées pensent que les villageois ne peuvent pas apporter de solutions pour limiter l’impact du changement climatique. Ces résultats sont aussi à rapprocher des processus de consultation et d’information des populations concernant l’accès et la gestion des ressources naturelles. En effet, les personnes interrogées ont majoritairement déclaré n’être jamais consultées (73 % au Sénégal, 64 % au Mali et 56 % en Guinée) et, au Sénégal et au Mali notamment, être peu voire pas informées des décisions qui sont prises à ce sujet.

On voit bien ici tout l’intérêt du projet de recherche-action Watigueleya Kèlê dans la collecte, la promotion et la diffusion des savoirs locaux et des pratiques locales pour faire face au changement climatique. D’ailleurs, bien que minoritaires, un peu plus d’un tiers des personnes interrogées en Guinée (34 %) et au Mali (35 %), et près de 20 % de celles du Sénégal pensent que les villageois peuvent apporter des solutions pour limiter l’impact de ce changement. Encore faut-il que les populations, sans distinction, soient intégrées aux processus de décision concernant l’accès et la gestion des ressources naturelles et qu’elles soient informées des décisions qui sont prises à ce sujet.

Laisser un commentaire

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap